Ford Forums & Technical Discussions banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok some of you may know me from FF some prolly dont, I had a 94 Ranger years ago loved it til it broke down and I couldnt afford to fix it. So now after owning 2 Focus', Im getting rid of one that I still owe on and would like to get a Ranger as my DD/work truck, Ive been looking for about a week now and cant seem to find one that either doesnt have something wrong with it or has a ton wrong with it in the price range Id like to stay in. So I had a thought tonight while looking through Craigslist about buying 2 Rangers that need some work fairly cheaply and do the work myself. Since owning my Focus' I have been doing a lot of the work on them myself, Im no certified mechanic but I do alright as long as its something simple or I can read up on it enough, Im a Service Manager by trade.
Here are the 2 I was thinking about, and please give me your honest opinions, the one Im sure as long as its just the tranny seal I should have no problem with, the other one I thought maybe either fix it I can if not get another motor to drop in it, could use it as my next project once my ZX3 project is done :) Thank you

http://tampa.craigslist.org/pnl/cto/3416216840.html

http://tampa.craigslist.org/psc/cto/3416457779.html

·
Registered
6 Posts
One has no title. lol I agree with getting the 4.0l from the start.

As a rule I avoid sellers that can't form a complete sentence.

If you look hard you will find a later model built in this century.

Watch for the SOHC 4.0l, it gives a substantial power increase over the early 4.0.

·
Registered
6 Posts
LOL, that's great.

It is better with hp numbers. They SOHC does have a lot of timing chain issues that weren't resolved until around 2006. That's why I would go with an OHV 4.0 - but that's a personal preference.
For the right price, plan on timing chains. lol Personally I've had, have 3 Explorers and an 03 Ranger with the SOHC 4.0.